Asian Peanut Butter Paste (for chicken)

I am always looking for new ways to get my daily dose of peanut butter. If I could bathe in a pool of peanut butter, I would. Does that make me obsessed?

know I am not the only one that feels this affectionately toward peanut butter. There is even a whole month dedicated to the love of peanut butter, and it just so happens to be November! In light of this, I thought it was only suiting for me to finally post this recipe after months of putting it off. (sorry everyone!)

My best friend first introduced me to this sauce when he would make “peanut butter chicken wings,” and from then on it held a special, peanut buttery place in my heart.

It was always a cause for celebration when it was peanut butter wing night at his apartment! And the nostalgia is now setting in…okay, moving on.

I like to use this sauce to coat cubed or shredded chicken that I can then use for various salads, wraps, and sandwiches. I especially love it for my take on the traditional Vietnamese “Banh Mi” sandwich, which I appropriately call “Peanut Butter Banh Mi”

Peanutbutterbahnmi

This recipe is for the purpose of mixing it with chicken. Now that I think about it, it is kind of like you are making Asian Peanut Butter Chicken Salad. YUM!

Asian Peanut Butter Paste

Ingredients:

  • ¼ Cup All Natural Peanut Butter
  • 1 tsp Soy Sauce
  • ½ tsp Fish Sauce* (optional)
  • 2 Tbsp Milk of choice (I use unsweetened original almond milk)
  • 1 Tbsp Lime Juice (I half-squeezed half of a lime)
  • 1-2 tsp Red Pepper Flakes (personal preference–some like it hot! ;))
  • ¼ tsp Ground Coriander
  • ¼ tsp Salt (add ¼ tsp more if you omitted the fish sauce)

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a bowl mix with a spatula, making sure it is smooth.

It should create a paste. When you mix it with shredded or cubed chicken, it tastes super creamy!

AsianPeanutbuttersauce

This stuff never lasts long in our house!

Leave a Reply

